top of page
  • editor

Homemade vs Takeaway by Ivan Neshev

Updated: May 3, 2019

By Ivan Neshev


Many people nowadays prefer to order food than to cook it themselves. The reason - time or money.


A statistic made by YouGov shows us, that around one in five (19%) of the people is likely to make their food from scratch - using raw ingredients. The rest of the people are most likely get frozen food from the supermarket or order takeaway food from one of the many applications.


Androniki Christopher, a successful food blogger, based her blog on amazing homemade dishes. “Having a blog was one way of sharing my experience. I have been told on several occasions, by friends and family, that my dishes not only taste good, but look good too. So with the help of my daughter, I started my blog,” Christopher said.



A research made by The NPD Group, shows that during the last decade the takeaway delivery market has grown from £2.4 billion to £4.2 billion as of February 2018. That is a 73% increase.


“Food delivery apps are very good way of having a ready made food delivered to your front door.They are easy and accessible and offer a variety of cuisines,” Christopher said.

And while Androniki Christopher is using the delivery applications from time to time Katarzyna Kus, a sous-chef in Cabana restaurant, is all about them. “They are life saving and great. I don’t have much time to cook at home, so I rely on them. Also the food is not bad at all,” Kus said.


The infographic below shows us, which are the most ordered foods in UK, based on a statistic made by The NPD.


As for those people who prefer to cook their meals on their own, a survey made by BBC’s Good Food, shows that the Sunday Roast is the most popular homemade dish, with 23% of the respondents said, that this is the meal they are mostly looking for.


The other top four dishes in the survey are: pizza, pasta, curry and steak or fish.


“I do not distinguish between sweet and savoury dishes,” Christopher said, “I enjoy cooking both. And in case of a special occasion, I am definitely trying to prepare both, myself. ”



As for which is her favourite dish to prepare she simply said: “ My main two recipes are Spaghetti Bolognese and roasted vegetables.”


“My profession is to make food for the others, so it is quite nice to be replaced and get somebody else to prepare your dish,” Katarzyna Kus said.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page